Some time ago, I posted about how an employer can sell themselves to their employees.  Well, that works the other way around.  I’ve consulted with employees on selling themselves to their employers.

Too often, employees are simply “working for the man” unaware that their employer may be:

  1. Considering a replacement for their position,
  2. Looking for someone to sell their business to,
  3. Ready to implement new strategies in their business, and they need that special person to carry out these new ideas, or
  4. Assessing the job duties of each employee in anticipation of an upcoming job review

Whatever the case, it does a person good to sell themselves to their employer in a way that doesn’t come across as kissing up.  Make your intentions to your employer known so as to avoid the “brown nosing” effect that could result from this activity.

pic from bobbyearle.blogspot.comHere is an example my dad shared with me when I first started working:

My dad had just started his career at Meyers Arnold in Greenville, SC and was working in the accounts payable department.  The Accounting Manager had just left his position and my dad knew he could perform the job.  They began looking outside to fill the position.  My dad went to the manager and literally asked for the Accounting Manager position.  However, he did not require a pay increase, and asked for the job on a contingent basis.

Of course, my dad did an awesome job and when it came time for his job review, my dad asked for a raise to go along with his big bad new title.  They obliged and were thankful to have my dad on staff.

I’ve used that story to inspire me to do the same thing, receiving a bonus and over an 18% pay increase in one year.  It was great.  But I knew there was value behind my request.

In selling yourself to your boss, make sure there is value that will leave your employer unable to say no to your requests or desires.  Make sure you have already added value to your position.  Selling yourself should never come with promises to do well.  They come with examples of excellent work already performed.  Even better, selling yourself to your employer (in whatever capacity) is always more welcomed when you have padded your bosses pockets.

Thanks, Jason M. Blumer  

 

